skip to main content
Search: Keyword:
Cecelia Swetland Phone Icon 530 347-3123 Email Icon Email


Click presentation link to view student-made book trailers!




                Welcome to the West Cottonwood School Library Page




                                                                       Congratulations Abby Collver !!



                                          Abby broke the school AR record by earning 1014.6 points during the

                                               2016/17 school year. She also read 6,583,679 words during this time.     



                                                               MILLION WORD EARNERS


               Aubrelle James(5M), Porter Ballard(4M), Cody Harper(3M),

               Cooper Staup(3M), Lincoln Seal(2M), Aidyn Rodriguez(2M),

               David Silva(2M), Serenade Richardson(2M), Lucas Brown(2M),

               Sierra Crews (2M) Daphne Eaton(2M),Cadynce Gippner(2M),

               Kylie Fscus(2M), Nia Fitch, Aidan Bushey, Carli Sanderson,

               Caris Ballard, Helynn Garber, Ella Walker, Logan Beck,

               Jackson Walker, Noah Miller, Braxton Swetland,

               Wyatt Livesay, Atreyu Dulen, Kate Crowl, Serenity Pierce,

               Jillian Custard, Halee Flashner, Emily Heese, Owen Collver,

               Patrick Kelstrom, Marquis Smith, Aiden McBroome-Bradley,

               Laeyah Dismukes, Frank Atchison, Mahayla Guevarra,

               Patrick Duval, Aislynn Dulen-Fuller, Tyler Custard, Jacob Fuller,

               Brooklynn Robertson, Mason Duenas, Mykah Tarango,

               Sadie Dorsey, Brody Phillips






AR TOP TEN                                                                                    

Aubrelle James       

Cody Harper                        

Porter Ballard

Cooper Staup

Aidyn Rodriquez 

Lincoln Seal

David Silva

Lucas Brown

Serenade Richardson

Caris Ballard










  The Newbery Award is awarded annually by the Association for         

Library Service to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.


2018 Medal Winner


Merci Suarez changes gears, written by Meg Medina






 2018 Honor Books


 The Night Diary, written by Veera Hirananni
                     The Book of boy, written by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

   The California Young Reader Medal (CYRM) program encourages recreational reading of popular

literature among the young people of our state. California children nominate, read, and vote for the winners

of the California Young Reader Medal.                              

2018-19 Nominees



Fish in a Tree                                                The War that saved my life                     Crenshaw
by Lynda Mullaly Hunt                                   by Kimberly Bradley                                by Katherine Applegate
Middle school/JR High:
Ms. Bixby's Last Day                                         Echo                                                        Wolf Hollow
by John Anderson                                             by Pam Munoz Ryan                               by Lauren Wolf
Young Adult:
Walk on Earth a Stranger                                  Written in the Stars                                     Girl in the Blue Coat 
by Rae Carson                                                   by Aisha Saeed                                          by Monica Hesse

                                Book Recommendations and award winner websites:

2017 Amazon’s Best children’s books/YA Books:

2018 American Library Association’s Notable Children's Books:

2018 Bank Street’s Best Children's Books of the Year:

2017 Children's Literature Assembly’s Notable Children’s Books in the Language Arts:

2017 Cooperative Children’s Book Center Best Books of the year:

2017 Kirkus Reviews Best Fiction Books of the year:

2017 Michael L. Printz Award:

2017 National Book Awards:

2018 Publisher’s Weekly Best Children's and YA Books 2017:

2018 School Library Journal’s Best Books:


2018 William C. Morris Debut YA Award:

2018 Young Adult Library Services Association's Best Fiction: