Welcome to the West Cottonwood School Library Page



Cecelia Swetland
Media Specialist

Kennedy - AR Record Winner

Congratulations Kennedy Taillon!

Kennedy broke the school AR record during the 2019-2020 school year. She ended the year with 8,193,559 words and 1214.0 points.


                       Kennedy Taillon (6M), Jenna Ives (3M), Kylie Fiscus(3M),

                     Mariska Watson(3M), Emily Heese(2M), Blake Adam(2M), 

                      Isaac Anderson(2M), Yuliana Zepeda Silva, Daphne Eaton,

                      Sadie Dorsey, Brooke Webb, Isabelle Nicholson, Cal Chin,

                    Cooper Staup, Marquis Smith, Wyatt Livesay, Eric Dennis

                    Wyatt Peterson, Morghan Abshire, Cadynce Gippner,

                    Rierden Blanchard, Lucas Brown, William Jernigan, 

                    Colton O'Reilly, Brady Reeder, Jaymus Lawrence,

                    Angela Christopher, Colton Frisbie, Grace Verdugo, 

                    Russell Luna, Mahayla Guevarra, Bradyn Brooks,

                    Marianne Russell, Tula Grassl, Kiara Fryrear, Dannyn Myers, 

                    Adin Stephens, Saint De'Coite 




       Kennedy Taillon

       Mariska Watson

Jenna Ives 

               Isaac Anderson        

 Kylie Fiscus

    Emily Heese 

                                                                               Blake Adam

                     Daphne Eaton               

                 William Jernigan       

      Wyatt Livesay






The Newbery Award is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Newbery Award Logo
New Kid - Cover

2020 Medal Winner


New Kid by Jerry Craft

2020 Honor Books

The Undefeated Cover
Scary Stories for Young Foxes Cover
Other Words for Home Cover
Genisis Begins Again

The Undefeated
by Kwame Alexander

Scary Stories for Young Foxes
by Christian McKay Heidicker

Other Words for Home
by Jasmine Warga

Genisis Begins Again
by Alicia D. Williams

The California Young Reader Medal (CYRM) program encourages recreational reading of popular literature among the young people of our state. California children nominate, read, and vote for the winners of the California Young Reader Medal.     

Young Reader Medal Logo

2020 Nominees


Detectives Assistant Cover

The Detective's Assistant
by Kate Hannigan

The Losers Club Cover

The Losers Club
by Andrew Clements

War I finally won Cover

The War I Finally Won
by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Middle School/Jr. High

The Refugee Cover

by Alan Gratz

It Ain't So Awful Falafel Cover

It Ain't So Awful, Falafel
by Firoozeh Dumas

When Friendship Followed me Home Cover

When Friendship Followed Me Home
by Paul Griffin

Young Adult

Daughter of Deep Silence Cover

Daughter of Deep Silence
by Carrie Ryan

The Hate U Give Cover

The Hate U Give
by Angie Thomas

Scythet Cover

by Neal Shusterman

Book Recommendations and Award Winner Websites

2020 Amazon’s Best children’s books/YA Books:

2020 American Library Association’s Notable Children's Books:

2020 Bank Street’s Best Children's Books of the Year:

2020 Children's Literature Assembly’s Notable Children’s Books in the Language Arts:

2020 Cooperative Children’s Book Center Best Books of the year:

2020  Kirkus Young Readers:

2020 Michael L. Printz Award:
2019 National Book Awards:
2020 Publisher’s Weekly Best Children's and YA:

2020 School Library Journal’s Best Books:

2020 William C. Morris Debut YA Award:
2020 Young Adult Library Services Association's Best Fiction: