Library

Welcome to the West Cottonwood School Library Page

 

CONTACT:

Cecelia Swetland
Media Specialist
530-347-3123

Kennedy - AR Record Winner

Congratulations Kennedy Taillon!

Kennedy broke the school AR record during the 2019-2020 school year. She ended the year with 8,193,559 words and 1214.0 points.

 MILLION WORD EARNERS

Kennedy Taillon(8M), Cooper Staup(5M), Emily Heese(2M),  Lincoln Seal(2M), Kylie Fiscus(2M), Noah Miller(2M), Elijah Anderson(2M), Grace Verdugo(2M) Cadynce Gippner(2M), Nia Fitch,  Aislynn Dulen-Fuller, Lucas Brown, Shelby Reuss, William Jernigan, , Brooke Webb, Isabelle Nicholson, Morghan Abshire,   Mystry Bickers, Olivia Ross, Addison Seal, Daisy Bays, Jared Witherspoon, Ella Walker, Serenity Pierce, Shelbie Rogers, Colton Frisbie

AR TOP TEN

                                                                                
    Kennedy Taillon

Cooper Staup

Emily Heese

Lincoln Seal

Kylie Fiscus 

     Elijah Anderson

       Cadynce Gippner

Noah Miller  

   Grace Verdugo

Lucas Brown




 

The Newbery Award is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Newbery Award Logo
New Kid - Cover

2020 Medal Winner

 

New Kid by Jerry Craft

2020 Honor Books
The Undefeated Cover
Scary Stories for Young Foxes Cover
Other Words for Home Cover
Genisis Begins Again

The Undefeated
by Kwame Alexander

Scary Stories for Young Foxes
by Christian McKay Heidicker

Other Words for Home
by Jasmine Warga

Genisis Begins Again
by Alicia D. Williams

The California Young Reader Medal (CYRM) program encourages recreational reading of popular literature among the young people of our state. California children nominate, read, and vote for the winners of the California Young Reader Medal.     

Young Reader Medal Logo
2020 Nominees
Intermediate
Detectives Assistant Cover

The Detective's Assistant
by Kate Hannigan

The Losers Club Cover

The Losers Club
by Andrew Clements

War I finally won Cover

The War I Finally Won
by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Middle School/Jr. High
The Refugee Cover

Refugee
by Alan Gratz

It Ain't So Awful Falafel Cover

It Ain't So Awful, Falafel
by Firoozeh Dumas

When Friendship Followed me Home Cover

When Friendship Followed Me Home
by Paul Griffin

Young Adult
Daughter of Deep Silence Cover

Daughter of Deep Silence
by Carrie Ryan

The Hate U Give Cover

The Hate U Give
by Angie Thomas

Scythet Cover

Scythe
by Neal Shusterman

Book Recommendations and Award Winner Websites

2019 Amazon’s Best children’s books/YA Books:
https://www.amazon.com/b/ref=s9_acss_bw_cg_BOTY19_2c1_w?node=17296227011&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=merchandised-search-6&pf_rd_r=0DWJZZYXNGDGB93WEGDY&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=bbebde55-9e45-4492-a61c-85fd7ebbe678&pf_rd_i=17276804011

2019 American Library Association’s Notable Children's Books: http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/notalists/ncb

2019 Bank Street’s Best Children's Books of the Year: https://www.bankstreet.edu/library/center-for-childrens-literature/childrens-book-committee/best-childrens-books-of-the-year/

2019 Children's Literature Assembly’s Notable Children’s Books in the Language Arts: http://www.childrensliteratureassembly.org/notables.html

2020 Cooperative Children’s Book Center Best Books of the year: https://content.schoolinsites.com/api/documents/e0ded5ce6c9540849f8bc31c486dd3c2.pdf

2019 Kirkus Reviews Best Fiction Books of the year: https://www.kirkusreviews.com/issue/best-of-2019/section/fiction/lists/

2019 Michael L. Printz Award: http://www.ala.org/awardsgrants/michael-l-printz-award

2019 National Book Awards: https://www.nationalbook.org/awards-prizes/national-book-awards-2019/?cat=ypl

2019 Publisher’s Weekly Best Children's and YA Books of 2019: https://best-books.publishersweekly.com/children/2019/

2019 School Library Journal’s Best Books: https://www.slj.com/?page=best-books-2019

2019 William C. Morris Debut YA Award: http://www.ala.org/awardsgrants/william-c-morris-debut-ya-award

2020 Young Adult Library Services Association's Best Fiction:   http://www.ala.org/yalsa/2020-best-fiction-young-adults