Library

Welcome to the West Cottonwood School Library Page

 

CONTACT:

Cecelia Swetland
Media Specialist
530-347-3123

Email Cecelia Swetland

Kennedy Taillon

Congratulations Kennedy Taillon!

Kennedy broke the school AR record during the 2019-2020 school year. She ended the year with 8,193,559 words and 1214.0 points.

words

MILLION WORD EARNERS

Kennedy Taillon (2M), Mariska Watson (2M), Brooke Webb, Jenna Ives, David Irwin, Russell Luna

AR TOP TEN

Mariska Watson

Kennedy Taillon

Brooke Webb

Jenna Ives

David Irwin

Russell Luna

Kahne Tarter

Sadie Dorsey

Colton Frisbie

Angela Christopher

Award

The Newbery Award is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

new kid

2020 Honor Books

2020 Medal Winner

 

New Kid by Jerry Craft

undefeated

The Undefeated by Kwame Alexander

story

Scary Stories for Young Foxes by Christian McKay Heidicker

Other Words for Home

Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga

Genisis Begins Again

Genisis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams

medal

The California Young Reader Medal (CYRM) program encourages recreational reading of popular literature among the young people of our state. California children nominate, read, and vote for the winners of the California Young Reader Medal.

2020 Nominees

Intermediate

book

The Detective's Assistant by Kate Hannigan

Middle School/Jr. High

book

The Losers Club by Andrew Clements

book

The War I Finally Won by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

book

Refugee by Alan Gratz

Young Adult

book

It Ain't So Awful, Falafel by Firoozeh Dumas

book

When Friendship Followed Me Home by Paul Griffin

book

Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

book

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

book

Scythe by Neal Shusterman

Book Recommendations and Award Winner Websites

2020 Amazon’s Best children’s books/YA Books:

https://www.amazon.com/b/ref=s9_acsd_al_bw_clnk/ref=s9_acsd_al_bw_c2_x_c2cl?node=17296227011&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=merchandised-search-3&pf_rd_r=JXPNZQEE925Y36ANJ1GM&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=f08b01a6-bf9d-49b8-8cc6-d9f03868d79a&pf_rd_i=17276808011

2020 American Library Association’s Notable Children's Books: http://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/notalists/ncb

2020 Bank Street’s Best Children's Books of the Year: https://www.bankstreet.edu/library/center-for-childrens-literature/childrens-book-committee/best-childrens-books-of-the-year/

2020 Children's Literature Assembly’s Notable Children’s Books in the Language Arts: http://www.childrensliteratureassembly.org/notables.html

2020 Cooperative Children’s Book Center Best Books of the year: https://content.schoolinsites.com/api/documents/e0ded5ce6c9540849f8bc31c486dd3c2.pdf

2020  Kirkus Young Readers: https://www.kirkusreviews.com/news-and-features/articles/kirkus-prize-2020-the-young-readers-finalists/

2020 Michael L. Printz Award: http://www.ala.org/awardsgrants/michael-l-printz-award
2019 National Book Awards: https://www.nationalbook.org/awards-prizes/national-book-awards-2019/?cat=ypl
2020 Publisher’s Weekly Best Children's and YA: https://best-books.publishersweekly.com/pw/best-books/2020/middle-grade

2020 School Library Journal’s Best Books: https://www.slj.com/?page=best-books-2020

2020 William C. Morris Debut YA Award: http://www.ala.org/awardsgrants/william-c-morris-debut-ya-award
2020 Young Adult Library Services Association's Best Fiction:   http://www.ala.org/yalsa/2020-best-fiction-young-adults